How to pick the right Agile certification

Explore Assurity 25 October 2017 Bruce Keightley

There are a growing number of Agile certifications available for professionals to add to their repertoire – but how do you know which certification is best for you and how do you get that certification?

Many of the courses we offer at Assurity are certified by the world’s top Agile certificate bodies. With growing demand for Agile skills and knowledge within organisations, equipping yourself with a higher education course with formal certification allows you not only to contribute more to your organisation, but it also gives you an edge in the increasingly competitive and changing job market.

Here’s a list of some of the top Agile certifications to help you decide which is right for you and your career.

Project Management Institute (PMI)

The PMI offers certifications for project managers from Agile organisations or those who are making the leap into Agile practices. Our Agile Facilitator course is a top-tier course where Scrum Masters, Agile Project Managers or Iteration Managers can gain 16 PMI PDUs to claim towards PMI-ACP (Agile Certified Practitioner) certification or to support existing PMI certifications such as the PMP. Participants of many other Assurity Education courses, such as Fundamentals of Agile and Business Value Analysis, can also claim 16 PDUs towards their PMI-ACP.

International Consortium for Agile (ICAgile)

ICAgile is an independent Agile accrediting agency. We offer courses at all levels of the ICAgile spectrum (from Professional to Master). Fundamentals of Agile is a foundation course from the ICAgile curriculum, while Business Value Analysis, Agile Project Management, Agile Coaching and The Agile Facilitator are higher level courses that are also ICAgile certified.

Scaled Agile Academy

The Scaled Agile Academy provides training and certification for large software enterprises adopting the Agile/Lean methodologies. To gain the Scaled Agile Framework Agilist certification, managers and executives responsible for implementing Agile in their enterprise can complete our Leading SAFe course.

Scrum Alliance

Scrum is the leading Agile ‘flavour’ or Agile framework. Particularly suitable for software development, high-level upskilling in Scrum and gaining certification from the Scrum Alliance can be done through The Agile Facilitator course. This will earn you 16 Scrum Alliance SEUs toward the Certified Scrum Professional (CSP) level.

As the leading Scrum professional network, offers certifications for every aspect of Scrum. With us, you can complete the Professional Scrum Product Owner course to gain PSPO certification, Professional Scrum Master course to gain PSM I or PSM II level of certification or the Scaled Professional Scrum (Nexus) course to gain SPS certification from

Note that course participants may need to pass an online assessment to gain certification. Find out more about our Assurity Education courses or email us.